The Great Canadian Wallet Quandary

I’ve made a number of wallets from the Internetz And they’re all lovely. But here’s the problem: they don’t really work for the budgeting Canadian.
I don’t know about you guys, but I’m on a tight-ish budget (until that Melody Miller Fabric comes up here, then watch out!). I really like using the envelope system to manage my money, but the money keeps falling out. Literally! I’m working with loonies and twoonies here, people!
My list of wallet requirements:
-compact
-at least six compartments that close
This should be pretty easy, n’est-ce pas?
Guess again, my crafty amigos and amigas! And so, it is my patriotic duty to make a wallet to hold all the $1 and $2 coins required by my fellow Canadians on a budget.
Version 1.0
Pros: – small, neat compartments each with it’s own solid closure
Cons: – zippers are really bulky, six pouches were so think they wouldn’t fit through my machine.
I don’t want to use Velcro strips with this wallet. I think they would cut down I’m the bulk, but I also think they would be challenging to open.
Version 2.0 was inspired by my sister-in-law and this piece of awesomesauce from Winnipeg:

It’s a WIP, but I think it has potential. And, I’m especially fond of it as it’s a hexagon:

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Great Canadian Wallet Quandary

  1. Dude says:

    does it have to flat? would you be open to a bag-type concept? because you could make a hex-flower bottom and tubular (hexular?) pouches that could close with a drawstring at the top. I wish I could send you the picture in my head. a little telepathy would go a long way here.

  2. --ginger. says:

    Niiiiiiiiiiiiice. Good job making what you need! Good job making what you need!

Leave a Reply

