Thursdays=She’s Crafty

As Lu would say, “Holy Smokes!” I’ve been doing a lot of crafting. This summer I had the realization that crafting is so important to my mental well-being. These days it’s my meditation, therapy, quiet time, social life and creative outlet all in one. So my time on the streetcar, a few minutes at lunch, and a few more before bed is my time.

The girls are the main recipients of most of my current projects. Lu’s baby, aptly named ‘Heavy’, was the recipient of a hand-me-down bunting bag that Ni never wore:

LU AND HEAVYBABY

LU AND HEAVYBABY


This was inspired by a “why-didn’t-I-think-of-that?” post by Care at Dollar Store Crafts. I love that site, I must bookmark a ‘to-do’ from that site every day.

Ni has a new baby, as yet unnamed:

She’s actually a Kokeshi doll (similar to a tiny wooden one that Nora gave me when Ni was born) that Melly & Me designed. This isn’t so much of a “softie” as she is a “crunchie” – I put a baby wipes wrapper inside. That’s one of her favorite sounds.

I “worked from home” last Thursday (read: played with the kids all day and then worked in the evening until I passed out) and besides picnic-ing and playing at the wading pool we made “Dr. Seuss Flowers”, as Ad calls them:

Suessian flowers

Suessian flowers

Inspired by this tutorial here.

Lu making flowers really means just “fluffing them so they’re really fluffy and floppy!”, and I do everything else. I think I need to make more of the multicoloured ones. And I’m debating whether or not these should grace my desk at work.

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Thursday = She's Crafty and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thursdays=She’s Crafty

  1. kniterdone says:

    I love the whole 2D-as-3D concept. It’s fun. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I think you left a comment for me once on my kniterdone blog, but I didn’t have a way to contact you to say thanks. I hope you are doing well.

    • shanghaicowgirl says:

      Thanks! I love your stuff. I’ve seen your new blog and need to add it to my feeds. Hope you’re not sweltering in Oklahoma!

  2. Lizbeth says:

    I think you definitely need pom-pom flowers at work. White or pale green to match your wallpaper. Tres chic.

    • shanghaicowgirl says:

      Indeed, I could go match-matchy, but I’m trying to destash. I can’t buy MORE yarn.
      Unless, of course, I see the perfect colour at the 50% off sale at Value Village today…

  3. Your dolly is simply precious! How awesome! Thanks for linking! I like the Seussian flowers, too!

Leave a Reply

