Tuesdays=The NiLu Report

DAY 1 OF NO CO-WORKER/COMPATRIOT AGAINST The Man

Well, nothing’s really different so far. Except I have a necklace I’m working on beside my phone. Oh yeah, coffee and crafts. Breakfast of champions.

So, this weekend marked The Official Change in Seasons chez Boldax. When my sister and I were kids, my Mom always had one weekend in August, just before school started, to Sort Through the Clothes. (Can you tell I’ve been reading Too Much A.A. Milne?)

Sorting Through the Clothes usual meant pulling all the upcoming season stuff out of the various storage areas of the house, trying things on to see what fit, what needed to be mended, hems let down, etc. The previous season’s clothes were then all sorted and packed away. This sorting always had a calming effect on me, especially in my teen years. I suppose it was ‘busy work’ to distract me from the anxieties of high school.

Now with two girls of my own, Ad and I are doing a Lot More Sorting. Ni is already quite comfortable in some 9-12 month onesies and Lu has grown out of the all the shoes she had this summer. I usually do a Good Sorting the weekend before the 50% off sale at Value Village. Has anyone else noticed that their regular prices keep going up? Sadly, no Scores: a Paddington book, a Doremon toque and three pairs of shoes that didn’t fit for Lu, a minty button-down shirt for me, and a 70’s Dior tie in fab pink and blue that’ll be a necklace soon.

I just finished putting away the final bag of 18 month-2T clothes last night. I do love the sorting, but I can’t believe we’re going to have to do it all over again in less than three months.

P.S. Yes, I know the photos are too huge for my layout. I was experimenting with linking to photos from my gmail account.

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Tuesday = The NiLu Report. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

