A walk in High Park

with Lucy and Nico’s “Guardparents”, Andy & Mere:

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A walk in High Park

  1. kniterdone says:

    I haven’t sent out the Canadian give away prizes yet. I’m trying to spin a bit extra first. I really want everybody to have enought to do something fun with it. I haven’t forgotten my neighbors to the north, though.

  2. Leslie says:

    such beautiful photos…love the baby sing. thanks for coming to my blog and entering the giveaway. good luck

  3. Kaye Prince says:

    Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving so many comments. First off to answer your questions, the bird patterns for the embroidery I did are actually free! I got them from this blog: http://zuill.us/andreablog/ If you hit the “embroidery” link in her sidebar you’ll get all the free embroidery patterns she’s made (rather than having to search through the blog posts). I just print them off and then use my heat transfer pencil to put them on the fabric.

    In regards to the unnamed fabric store. I have no problem with being left to my own devices (I actually prefer it when I’m browsing), but even when I’ve said hello I haven’t gotten even a hello back. The first time I went in I accidentally mistook one of the girls for the owner and commented on how much I liked her blog, and was very rudely rebuked for it. I’ve tried to give a few chances, but it’s very difficult (especially as a graduate student with little money) to receive bad customer service. I wish it weren’t so since the space is lovely and I really like the fabrics they have. I may give them another chance, but it feels pretty awful to get the impression you’re not wanted or don’t belong. As I mentioned, I have a few friends that have had similar experiences there also, and so I’ve gone beyond the point of thinking that I’m being overly-sensitive.

    I’m sorry to say all this since you said you really like it; I wish it weren’t the case. I really hope you like thee embroidery patterns on the site I’ve pointed you to! It’s really nice to meet another sewist/maker from Toronto!

  4. Melynda says:

    What a great baby sling. Your photos are lovely.

  5. Kaye Prince says:

    I have noticed the same thing! Funnily enough though a lot of the older ladies at Fabricland (I usually shop there for notions and suiting because my Mum bought me the discount card for my birthday) are really interested in what I’m making. Since I have my Blackberry they often ask me to show them photos of what I’m working on – it’s really nice!

    I may give the-place-that-shall-not-be-named another chance, however I don’t think I’ll be able to make it out this Tuesday since I’m in the last week of my first semester of graduate school and have four things (gasp!) due. Maybe it would be easier to get to know the owner and some of the people who work there in that situation.

Leave a Reply

