Mail!

Isn’t the blogoverse nifty? Looky what I received in the mail over the past couple of days from America…

These came from Michelle in LA, she’s a jewelry designer who has a hilarious and awesome blog.
She has a tutorial on her site on how to use those gold thingys to make buttons, but I went for the instant gratification of sewing the red already-made-into-buttons buttons onto a boring black sweater:

Ignore the toothpaste blobs, please.

Thanks Mich!

And then, I received this wonderful bundle of colour and texture:

Seriously, now. HANDSPUN embroidery floss, people. From one of my favorite embroidery artists: Alex Waters. Look at the yellow – don’t you just love it? I’m freaking out from the tactile-ness of it all. Lucy loves it too, she wants to know what we’re going to make with it:

I have no idea. I haven’t been inspired to embroider much. I can’t draw for boo, which leaves me with copying patterns and such that others have created. But I think I have enough skills now to create something original… but what? Alex’s site is full of inspiration, everything from tomato pincushions to Zoloft. I love her background materials as much as I love the textures.

As you can tell, I’m having a bit of a geek-out here. No matter.

Thank you so much ladies for the wonderful gifts – I can’t wait to use them!

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mail!

  1. kniterdone says:

    Did you get my email? I’m still thinking and I’m very sorry that I hurt your feelings with my comments on using commmercial patterns. Please know that I was talking about fine art, not craft. Fine art is supposed to be original design, craft is supposed to soothe the soul.

Leave a Reply

