My first quilt top

Well, here it is. My first quilt top.
It’s nice.
I thought I’d be more excited, but I’m not really. People seem to be more impressed with it than I am.

Oddly enough, the process of creating it – doing the paper piecing itself – was very soothing. I really like the zen of making hundreds of finger-pressed folds, little stitches, little knots. I’ve learned a lot about hand sewing too. I need a thimble. I don’t like hand sewing with poly-on-poly thread. Quilting needles are really tiny. That sort of thing.

But at the end of the day, quilting perhaps, is not for me. About 75% of the quilts I see online I’m uninterested in, 25% are interesting, and 5% I would actually curl up in. I love the process but so far I am less than enthusiastic about the end product.

Having said that, I did have a great conversation with Alex about how to pick fabrics and be all matchy-matchy. I find the picking and matching of multiple patterns hard to do, and Alex had some sage advice – less patterns in a block, a solid to break up the block and interestingly, the use of a solid coloured textured fabric. I really like the idea of using textured fabric, and didn’t even realize that I had done that on this quilt top (the white centres have a bit of texture to them). I’ve also found an interesting Japanese quilting book by Yoko Saito that has lots of original quilt blocks in interesting-to-me patterns. They are quite small blocks, so it might be fun to try out a few and see if I’d like to make a quilt out of them.

I also really like the back of the quilt top. I like the look of all of those folds, different coloured threads, the rough edges and the hex-within-a-hex thing going on. Maybe I can do something with that…

I’m going to sew some backing to this one and make it into an envelope pillow for the tinybabynico. Photos to come!

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My first quilt top

  1. octobermachine says:

    Its lovely!!! You did a great job. I love quilts, BUT quilting is not for me either. Its too persnickety. I’ll take the textural gratification of my knitting over sewing any day: )

    • Michelle says:

      See, I find knitting persnickety! The counting, the rows, the tension… I’m much more content to sew! I’m thinking I just need to hand-sew my projects instead of machine sewing. I get the zen of hand-stitching, and the final product is ultimately more practical!

  2. Tina says:

    Dude. Nice Hexes. I’m not overly in love with the hex to be honest but then maybe it’s just my mood today. Having grown up with quilting grandmothers I love all things quilted (per say) but it’s definitely not for everyone. I have yet to see a quilt I absolutely hate but definitely the modern pieces are more my thing.

  3. jsquirrel says:

    I dig the word “persnickety”…as well as your quilting.

  4. karen says:

    I love the concept of quilts…but not always the look. This one, I love! You’re crazy. It’s amazing. The end.

  5. nanayane says:

    wonderful! I love the colors! keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

