Silk, linen, fruit, flowers, and appliances.

What do these things all have in common? They are the traditional gifts for a fourth anniversary!

So, I could have purchased something in silk, or linen. Something representing fruit or flowers. And the girls and I already purchased Adam an ice maker, so that’s his appliance for this year.

Sadly, with the Axbey Illness of 2010, I didn’t get around to purchasing any of these awesome items. So I had to make something of my own.

Adam and I are currently reading “Making Ideas Happen”, by Scott Belsky and find it really interesting from a project/life management for creative sorts. You can listen to a podcast about the book and its theories here. One paragraph that spoke to both Adam and I was the description of a CEO who gets up every morning and writes out his to-do list from the beginning with a specific pen, specific paper and he does it without fail, and has done so for the past 30 years. We like the idea of the ritual.

So, I picked up a nice hardcover Moleskine and a fancy-pants Copic Multiliner pen. The pen was new to me (I bought myself one too) but so lovely! Not only can you replace the ink cartridge you can also replace the nib!

I made a pen holder for the notebook out of some linen ribbon I found at Mokuba (anniversary tie-in!) plus I added a tiny hexagon with the Official Fabric of Fatherhood.

Happy Anniversary, baby.

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silk, linen, fruit, flowers, and appliances.

  1. michelle says:

    I love this! the pen-in-ribbon-holder looks so sleek – and is so practical. You should link this up to some blog parties, I bet tons of people would love to try it! Thanks for the podcast link, too – it sounds like something I should check out. p.s. I posted your tiara today!

  2. G says:

    LUV this posting, and my heart was warmed while reading your project list in the last pic.
    Simply beautiful…

Leave a Reply

