Last night a hexagon saved my life.

Okay, perhaps that stretching the truth a bit.

Some of the Interwebz knows that I’ve been living with a chronic illness since I was in my late teens. Sometimes it’s the furthest thing from my mind. Sometimes it seems like the only thing that’s going on.

I’m very, very lucky to be as healthy as I am. But sometimes, it doesn’t feel like I’m healthy at all. Couple that with the challenges of anxiety and depression and well, you get this past week. Enter the hexagon.

Paper piecing hexagons brings me peace. I cannot explain it any better than that. Waiting in the doctor’s office, lying in bed feeling sorry for myself, trying to calm my nervous hands and mind. Hexagons make it better. Or at least manageable.

Fold a corner, tack it down with two stitches. Repeat five times. Turn it over. It’s done.
Repeat.

I took a course a few years ago on “Mindfullness Based Stress Reduction” and had a pretty hard time with it. Accepting the right now is challenging for me. Also, I slept during most of the meditation sessions.

But with a lowly fabric hexagon, a needle and thread, I’m always in the moment. I’m always right there, letting it be. Cursing the fumous ferrate, the doctors, everything and everyone, but then letting all just pass by, instead of dwelling on it, hamster-wheeling.

So, I’m feeling better. But I have a crap load of hexagons now. And the stack keeps growing. Now I need to figure out what to do with them all. Stay tuned.

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Last night a hexagon saved my life.

  1. Tina says:

    Dude. *hugs*

  2. Michelle L. says:

    Hi, Michelle! I’m happy you posted. The giant bowl of hexagons is so pretty and I really want to see what you do with them. Yay for craft therapy, it doesn’t cure anything but it does help.

Leave a Reply

