Hexspotting

I had a fight last. Not with Ad or Ni, or even Lu.

With the hexagons.

I’ve been piecing some together in an effort to make a cover for my serger. And nothing looks right. Colours don’t go quite right. Too many patterns, not enough patterns. So I said screw it, and worked on my scallop lap quilt while listening to my evening podcast of choice – A History of the World in 100 Objects.

Today I was looking for some inspiration, and I found some. Melanie Sullivan is hosting a Hexagon Charm Quilt-a-long over at Flickr and she blogs about it, and the rest of her life at Texas Freckles. She had so many awesome tips and ideas I had to write a post, just so I’d have one place to find all the information she provides.

Great videos on how to do basic piecing here, the awesomeness of chain basting here.

The types of hand quilting patterns that are possible here. I’m partial to doing the wavy stitching seen below, from Melaine’s blog:

via Texas Freckles

Or how about this wee bit of brilliance – putting some batting and fabric over a tv tray and voila, the perfect ironing table!

via Texas Freckles

I will do the same thing one day, but in the meantime, I grabbed a few pieces of this melamine shelf inserts we have around the office, and I’m going to convert them into lap-sized piecing and ironing boards.

But wait! There’s more! A fussy cutting template tutorial!

Using grey or light brown thread and size 9 betweens needles for piecing!

Using old bobbins and hair elastics to make thread travellers! (Also, so cute!)

And then this great post on different hexagon layouts.

Thanks Miss Freckles, you totally saved my relationship with hexagons.

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hexspotting

  1. Tina says:

    Is this the link that I sent you? I totally should have checked out her blog! scores dude! I can’t wait to see what you come up with using all those hexes.

Leave a Reply

