Completed – An easier Castle Peeps Playset

Hullo!

And… we’re back.

Whenever I start a post with “easier”, what I want to write is “lazier”. Which isn’t very self-serving. And is very self-depreciating.

Considering the majority of my daily craft time is done on a streetcar, assembled with hand stitching on my commute to and from work, I’m not really a lazy crafter. I just don’t have the time to do all the awesome things I see on the Interwebs. There will never be enough time and I just need to digest that sobering reality. My Evernote account, with its 27 notebooks and 1099 notes, will never be completed.

Take this super-cute Castle Peeps playset. Awesome, right? Can I whip this up while balancing an americano on my leg, and not bumping my sewing hand into my fellow commuter’s newspaper?

No. No I cannot.

I bought the fat quarters last year and they languished. But my children NEED a Castle Peeps playset. They don’t know it, but they do.

Finally, one Saturday, in about an hour, including finding all the supplies around the house, and it was done. Some fabric glue, some pinking shears, some craft felt. Pink, glue, cut.

Grab that giant clamshell laptop case that you’ve been saving for just such an occasion and throw them all in there. Marvel that it lies flat, so each kid has their own surface to play on. It’s like you planned it that way.

And then, every day after that, find another Peep under the couch, in the bathroom, in your work bag and put him back with his other Peep friends in the castle/laptop case.

Definitely not lazy, pretty damn easy.

About Michelle

Woman. Wife and Mama. Crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Completed – An easier Castle Peeps Playset

  1. jsquirrel says:

    LOVES IT!!!!!! (can you send me instructions/directions? My kids need this and don’t know it, either)

    • Michelle says:

      Lucky for you I have extra peeps cut out already and some more felt! I don’t know what my castle status is, I might have used the remaining fabric for a bag for Nico. Regardless, I’ll bring it up with stick-drawing instructions!

  2. Deborah says:

    I love this version!! Reminds me of Flannelgraph–did you ever play with that one? Yours looks super portable, too. Well done!

    • Michelle says:

      I have a very vague memory of Flannelgraph – although I had no idea that’s what it was called! We used them in elementary school for spelling. I also loved Colorforms, which is a lot like Flannelgraph, except with vinyl.
      Glad you like my twist on your project!

Leave a comment